2012 Poetry Prize Results

Final Judge: Dean Young

Photo by Jana Birchum of The Austin Chronicle.

Dean Young‘s most recent collection of poems is Fall Higher. His numerous books of poetry include Elegy on Toy Piano (2005), a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize, and Skid (2002), a finalist for the Lenore Marshall Prize He has received a Stegner fellowship from Stanford University, as well as fellowhips from the Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown, the National Endowment for the Arts, and the Guggenheim Foundation. Young’s awards also include an Academy Award in Literature from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. His poems have appeared seven times in The Best American Poetry series. Young has taught at the University of Iowa Writers’ Workshop, in the low-residency M.F.A. program at Warren Wilson College, and at Loyola University, in Chicago. He is currently the William Livingston Chair of Poetry at the University of Texas, in Austin.


2012 Indiana Review Poetry Prize Winner

“The Sublime”

Joshua Gottlieb-Miller


Missy-Marie Montgomery

“Visiting Seattle”
Hannah Oberman-Breindel

We offer our thanks to all who contributed to the success of the 2012 Indiana Review Poetry Prize. All entrants receive a year’s subscription to IR, which will begin with our Winter 2012 issue.

Set your Twitter account name in your settings to use the TwitterBar Section.