2021 1/2 K Prize

 This year’s final judge, Taylor Johnson, has selected “Not forgetting, but choosing to.” by Sanam Sheriff as the 2021 1/2 K Prize winner!

Submissions are now closed. 

About Page Banner Image

To Submit

  • Remember to send up to three pieces. Any genre for this contest! Each piece should be 500 words or fewer and in a single document (.doc, .docx. or .pdf).

  • Entrant’s name must not appear on the submission.

  • A cover letter is not required but can be included in the comments box if you like.

  • Each $20 fee gets you a year-long subscription of the journal. International addressees, please add $6 for postage ($3 for addresses in Canada).

  • We're offering free entries for Black or Indigenous writers. The first thirty free entries will also include a year-long print subscription; after that, you can still enter for free, but we don't have the funds to cover additional free print subscriptions.

    • [Note: As of 8/2/2021, we've hit our free-subscription cap.]

  • Be sure to select the correct genre on the submission form. Submissions with incorrectly designated genres will not be read.

  • Click the "submit entry" button on this page to get started. You will be redirected to the Submissions Manager to upload your submission after making the PayPal payment. If you are not automatically redirected, please contact inreview@indiana.edu and we will ensure you are able to complete your submission.


Keep in Mind:

  • IR doesn't accept mailed or emailed submissions.

  • All entries are considered anonymously.

  • Previously published works and works forthcoming elsewhere cannot be considered.

  • Simultaneous submissions are okay, but the entry fee is non-refundable if the submitted work is accepted elsewhere or withdrawn for another reason.

  • Multiple entries are okay, as long as a separate reading fee is included with each entry.

  • Finally, IR cannot consider work from anyone currently or recently affiliated with Indiana University or the prize judges. This includes people who have studied or taught at IU in the past four years.

Thank you. We look forward to reading your work!



Taylor Johnson is from Washington, DC. They are the author of Inheritance (Alice James Books, 2020), winner of the 2021 Norma Farber First Book Award from the Poetry Society of America. Their work appears in The Paris Review, The Baffler, Scalawag, and elsewhere. Johnson is a Cave Canem graduate fellow and a recipient of the 2017 Larry Neal Writers’ Award from the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities, and the 2021 Judith A. Markowitz Award for Emerging Writers from Lambda Literary. They live in New Orleans where they listen.